Your browser is not supported. Please update it.

Open Competitions

We host several large competitions throughout the year that are open to non members. Sand Moor Open Competitions run from May until September and there are competitive events for male, female, senior and junior golfers, as well as mixed competitions.

For all Open Day Competitors we ask that you have at least 6 counting scores in your handicap index record in the previous 12 months to be eligible for a prize, off which at least 3 must be club competition scores. If you are new to golf and have less scores this will be taken into consideration. Handicap indexes will be checked for all prize winners and we reserve the right to with hold prizes from competitors who do not hold a club member’s handicap index or have the appropriate number of scores in their handicap record.

Tee times for events can be booked online, using the link below.

Book Online

Men’s Spring OpenMonday 6th May 2024
Mixed 4BBB Stableford OpenMonday 27th May 2024
Ladies Team OpenThursday 13th June 2024
Gents Seniors OpenMonday 24th June 2024
North Leeds ClassicWednesday 17th July 2024
Gents Seniors 4BBB OpenMonday 29th July 2024
Men’s 4BBB OpenSunday 1st September 2024
Junior OpenSunday 29th September
Men’s Autumn OpenMonday 7th October 2024
Ladies Autumn OpenThursday 10th October 2024

This year marks the inaugural North Leeds Classic being held at Headingley, Sand Moor and Alwoodley golf clubs from Tuesday 16th July to Thursday 18th July 2024. Online entries to this four man team event and full details can be seen at this link.

Cancellation policy for all Sand Moor Open events :

29 days or more – full refund

28 days or less – money will be transferred towards a green fee at Sand Moor

Open Competitions 2024 Results

Men’s Spring Open -Monday 6th May 2024

1 Steve Collett + Andrew Ward 46 points £150 voucher each
2 Peter Fotheringham + Stephen Sanders 46 points  £125 voucher each
3 Chris Firth + George Firth 45 points £100 voucher each
4 William Smith + Roy Smith 45 points £75 voucher each
5 Christopher Hallam + Tim Burke 44 points £50 voucher each

Mixed 4BBB Open-Monday 27th May 2024

1st- Sue Nichols + Martin Nichols 45 points B9-23 £150 voucher each

2nd- Mark Rabjohn + Carol Rabjohn 45 points £100 voucher each

3rd- Derek Coe + Anne Robinson 43 points £80 voucher each

4th- Sean Savage + Janet Savage 42 points £60 voucher each

5th- Alan Starmer + Victoria Akin 41 points B9-24 £40 voucher each


Ladies Team Open – Thursday 13th June 2024

1      Linda Davies + Jenny Lanaway + Alison Best + P Porter 80 points – £80 voucher each

2      Melanie Couchman + Anne Stebbing + Susan Bland + J Willey 78 points – £60 voucher each

3      Val Swales + M Annable + J Conboye + Pauline Bramley 78 points – £40 voucher each

4      Elizabeth Jones + K Burnett + Patricia Hague + Christine Glendinning 77 points – £20 voucher each